My Own Heston Aerodrome Speech

My last post told of what I described as despicable money-grabbing behaviour on the part of First Great Western, and the fact that I was clearly lied to by either the conductor or the Customer Service department.

Well, after I was given short shrift by the customer service department (the irony), my ranting was picked up on by someone from the PR department, Customer Relations, and I was assured that I would indeed receive my refund as was originally promised. I am happy to report that the cheque arrived yesterday, and is about to wing its merry little way into the coffers of yours truly. To paraphrase the words of Neville Chamberlain: “…and here is the paper which bears my name upon it…”

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m happy to have finally received my customer service, but in the same week that a 6% rise in train fares was announced (don’t get me started on the disparaging and exasperating issue of fare prices – haha: “fair” prices! Geddit!?), and general austerity measures are being applied across the board in Europe, I find it baffling that First Great Western has to have a Customer Relations department on top of a Customer Service department – both from a functional perspective, as well as a fiscal one. Surely only one would do? I know which one I’d keep if I were the chairman, btw, Miss Jones. Thank you for your intervention.

I’m sure there’s a moral here – perhaps something about truth and honesty avoiding the need for over-investment in the PR machine? I don’t know. Personally, I’m just happy to have my money back – even if it did only happen through the power of the internet.

Leave a Reply

